An Apology

I have been sent a request for help by a researcher based in France. They have asked me to contact them via email to discuss some of the supposed Irish in Cassidy’s work. I would like to take this opportunity to apologise to the individual concerned. I am sure that they are sincere and that they are who they say they are but unfortunately, I am keen to preserve my anonymity and so I cannot enter into personal correspondence.

It seems to me that there are two ways round this. You can send me the questions you have as a comment, and I will post them and post my replies here in a public place. This means that other people can share your questions and my knowledge of the Irish language. If for any reason you are not keen on doing it this way, then you can also send me a comment with a postal address (I promise not to post it on cassidyslangscam, of course!), along with your questions, and I will quite happily send you a reply by snail-mail.

I’m sorry if this is inconvenient, but when dealing with cranks and nutcases (which Cassidy’s supporters most assuredly are), anonymity is the better part of valour!

Leave a Reply

