The Liebster Award

So, I have finally got around to responding to Emma’s very kind nomination of this blog for a Liebster Award. The Liebster Award is a kind of viral award designed to promote blogs with small readerships. Anyone can nominate a blog for a Liebster Award. If the recipient accepts it, they then nominate some other blogs they like and so it continues. The rules are as follows:

The rules:

  • Thank the person who nominated you and post a link to their blog.
  • Display the Liebster Award on your blog.
  • Share 11 random facts about yourself.
  • Answer 11 questions your nominator has asked.
  • Nominate up to 11 bloggers with less than 1000 followers.
  • Ask them 11 new questions or the same ones you were asked.
  • Let the bloggers you nominate know!
  • Copy the rules into your post.

So, first things first! Many thanks to Emma at https://wordsaretheweapon.wordpress.com/2015/11/29/the-liebster-award/ for nominating my blog. I am nominating the following blogs:

https://sesquiotic.wordpress.com/ (A great blog about etymology!)

https://wordpress.com/read/post/feed/13214072/899442285 (Toritto’s wonderful mixture of observations on life and politics, along with some extraordinary poems)

https://wordpress.com/read/post/feed/14434800/899778216 (Social Bridge – Jean Tubridy connecting with you from one of my favourite counties in Ireland)

http://stephaniehuesler.com/ (Stephanie Huesler’s enjoyable observations on words, writing and history)

Personally, I have enjoyed answering the questions and composing a few of my own but I realise that others may regard this as a chore. I will not take offence in the slightest if people choose to break the chain and not pass the Liebster Award on to other blogs.

Here are 11 facts about myself:

I have never seen a Star Wars or James Bond film all the way through.

There are only about three or four foods I’ve eaten that I didn’t like, things like tripe and brains.

I prefer the winter to the summer.

My favourite film is Inherit The Wind.

I love ruins and graveyards.

I don’t believe in ghosts but I like the idea of them.

I am deeply intolerant of intolerant people and I hate racists, homophobes and other bigots.

I dislike grammar bores and people who obsess about split infinitives and the like.

I always drink red wine. (When I drink alcohol, that is – I’m not hooked up to a drip or anything!)

I consider The Wire to be the best TV series ever made (so far).

If I won the lottery, I probably wouldn’t give up my job because I enjoy it so much.

Here are the questions that Emma sent and my answers to them.

Do you have a favourite accent? I love the Donegal accent. It’s very soft and lilting.

Does music help you work, or does it distract you? It distracts me. I like reggae and ska music but in moderation and not when I’m working.

Do you consider yourself an organised person? No. But I probably consider myself more organised than other people consider me, if I’m honest …

If you could play any role in the performance of a lifetime, what would it be? Tevya in Fiddler on the Roof. If I vere a rich man …

What was your favourite childhood book? Comet In Moominland by Tove Jansson when I was very young. Then The Weirdstone of Brisingamen by Alan Garner. I also really liked The High Deeds of Finn McCool by Rosemary Sutcliffe.

What is a past mistake you have learnt from? Without going into embarrassing detail, I can be a bit of a mouth and sometimes I have slagged people off who really didn’t deserve it. However, not on my blog. Cassidy and his vile cronies are really asking for it!

Which fictional character do you love to hate? Dare I say, Daniel Cassidy? I know he was a real person, but he was also a self-constructed myth.

Is there a particular song that chokes you up every time you listen to it? Misty, because it was played at my father’s funeral.

Do you prefer salty or sweet foods? Salty. But I eat the sweet foods as a dessert afterwards …

What would you name your autobiography? A Certain Deathtrap. It’s a description of life in Flann O’Brien’s The Third Policeman.

What was your favourite subject at school and why? History, without a doubt, because I love reading and learning about history.

These are my questions to the recipients, if they should choose to answer them:

  1. If you could learn any skill, what would it be?
  2. Do you have any phobias or not entirely rational fears?
  3. What is your favourite season?
  4. Is there a particular spice or herb or cooking ingredient you especially love?
  5. What three words describe you best?
  6. If you had to choose a ‘totemic’ animal that represents you, what would it be and why?
  7. If you could visit any place in the world, where would it be?
  8. Is there a particular ancestor you’re most proud of and why?
  9. What do you think of tattoos and piercings?
  10. Do you believe in ghosts?
  11. What would your dream job be?

So, thanks again to Emma, and I hope the recipients will enjoy going through the process and nominating a few other blogs!

2 thoughts on “The Liebster Award

  1. Emma

    Great answers! Quite a few of your answers are similar to mine; the Donegal accent is a lovely one, and salty foods are the best. Also I love your idea for your autobiography name, you should write one just to use that title!

    Reply
  2. DebunkerOfCassidy Post author

    As it stands, my life, while I enjoy it very much, might be a little bit lacking in incident for an autobiography! Have you ever read The Third Policeman? It’s a very funny and disturbing book about a man who dies in the first few chapters while reaching under some floorboards and then is tormented by bizarre supernatural forces in a kind of personal steam punk hell. It was originally written about 1940 and was way ahead of its time. It was only found and published after he died in 1968.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

